State FFA Convention

Post date: Mar 17, 2016 9:47:43 PM


Raymond Seal was elected as the state FFA treasurer for the 2016-2017 school year! Tori Suto placed fourth in Beginning Public Speaking, and Morgan Forney placed in the top 5 for her goat production project. Congratulations to all!

Credit for the great article below goes to sophomore Annie Story. She wrote this before state convention. Thanks for the information, Annie!

State Convention is Just Around the Corner!

Oregon’s State FFA Leadership Convention is quickly approaching! During March 18-21, FFA members from across the state of Oregon will meet at Oregon State University in Corvallis. Over the course of four days the next State Officers will be elected, agriculture businesses and colleges will have booths to recruit and educate members, competitions will be held, and our current State Officers will retire from their offices.

Many FFA members in our county have been preparing for months for this event. Not only is it an amazing experience for becoming a better leader and learning more about Oregon Agriculture, but some members have earned the privilege of competing at the state level in a variety of Career Development Events. The winners of these competitions will be eligible to represent Oregon at the National Level of competition. Wallowa County has many members competing at State Convention this year and receiving their State Degree. Clayne Miller, Trent Bales, Tiffany George, Jackie Jenson, Darby Gassett, Gabrielle Wells, Whitney Evans, Claire Beck, Tate Olsen, Zyler Hermans, Aaron Schaafsma, Koby Frye, Megan Jones, Marli Tracy-Mallory, Jordan Ferré, Caitlin Robb, Ashley Starner, Gabe Burns, Addie Kilgore, Johnelle Suto, Ally Cooney, Morgan Forney, and Annie Duncan have all earn their State Degree. Tori Suto, a freshman at Joseph will be competing in Beginning Prepared Public speaking, and Kobe Ketscher of Enterprise is competing in Extemporaneous Public Speaking. A large number of members qualified in proficiencies such as Kacie Melville in Grain Production and in Diversified Crop Production, Darby Gassett in Turf Grass Management, Sarah Aschenbrenner in Equine Science Entrepreneurship, Kurt Norton in Ag Mechanics, Repair, and Maintenance, Claire Beck in Dairy Production, Will McCadden in Forage Production Placement, Koby Frye in Beef Production Placement and Diversified Agriculture Production, Ashley Starner in Agriculture Education, Morgan Forney in Goat Production, and Maddi Tracy Malory in Poultry Production. Koby Frye also received the District STAR in Agriculture Placement and Raymond Seal is going to be running for a State Office.

Good luck to all the students competing or simply attending to help expand their horizons!